Login
Back to forumReply to this topicGo to last reply

Posted By

Mozar​tkügel
on 2019-02-07
06:03:25
 Were tape loaders with loading image and music common on C16/Plus4 games?

Hi! I'm completely new to the c16/plus4 so I'm curious if tape loaders with loading image and music were common on C16/Plus4 games? Or if they maybe are now on new 'homebrew'? I really love those tape loaders on the c64 so I'm just curious. I would try a bunch of more games myself (and I will later) but I'm super busy, so I'm focusing all my little free time on creating games instead of playing games right now. I tried to search too, but this was all I found so far https://youtu.be/EH3hToHuvZo?t=909

Posted By

Luca
on 2019-02-07
08:00:30
 Re: Were tape loaders with loading image and music common on C16/Plus4 games?

Being mostly a C16 market, all the memory in the commercial releases has to be dedicated to the game itself, no wasting it around. If there was no usage of the screen memory, sometimes a PETSCII screen would have been used (Jetbrix, Mr. Puniverse, Oblido, Mercenary and so on...), rarely logos (Trailblazer) or pics in some Plus/4 releases.
An IRQ tape loader to play music while loading...nope, never happened.

Posted By

Csabo
on 2019-02-07
08:43:49

So, to expand on the above: a few examples of Hungarian releases with loading pics: Elvarázsolt Kastély, Időlabirintus, A Nyuszi Olvasni Tanít 4, Super Cobra, Digital Ball.

Then, there's a turbo that Gaia referred to as "singing" turbo, which is kind of similar. Examples: Kőműves Kelemen, Rázós Út. Basically instead of flashing the border, these programs write to the sound registers. It's interesting.

And finally, there's Rabló-Rulett, which - despite being a C16 game - has an IRQ loader with music playing! (Off topic; I'd like to mention that the votes on this game don't do it justice in my opinion, it's a polished, fun game with lots of options.)