Login
Back to forumReply to this topicGo to last reply

Posted By

Charlemagne
on 2019-01-05
07:11:34
 LUMYDCTT - RenderGFX - Need some help

Hello Everybody,

Well, I would like to implement a new feature in LUMYDCTT and I have already made some progress:

Lumydctt - RenderGFX - Black&White

At this moment, you can ONLY render a picture (BMP, GIF, JPG, PNG and TIF) to a Black&White one and save it to a PRG (start at $2000), so you can see it if you load it after typing "GRAPHIC1,1" (or GRAPHIC2,1).

In the future I would like to make it more useful, so I need your help, such as:

- Graphicians (like MMS): What kind of softwares do they use for drawing their graphics? (eg.: Boredom: It looks like so clearly and colorful.)

- Coders (like Csabo): How can they show it? (I studied Larry's FLI Converter a little bit and the generated PRG.)

Do they use multicolor mode or manipulate some thing (eg. color attributes) on demand? ...and on this way they can cheat our eyes and we think of seeing more colors on the screen?

Posted By

gerliczer
on 2019-01-05
09:26:09
 Re: LUMYDCTT - RenderGFX - Need some help

IstvanV's plus4emu has a tool called p4fliconv. You should take a look at it to get ideas for your converter, what functions it should have and what modes it should support. IIRC, it also has some display routines in assembly source for the graphic modes. Obviously, you should give credit for everything you borrow from his tool, be it actual code or only non-trivial ideas.

Posted By

Csabo
on 2019-01-05
10:50:45

The idea behind DFLI is simple. By default, in one character line (which is 8 pixels tall), you have 2 colors per character; foreground and background in hires, and two ink colors in multi. The colors themselves come from the color and luminance maps, which are specified by $FF14. In short: 2 colors for every 8x8 pixel area.