Login
Back to forumReply to this topicGo to last reply

Posted By

Austin
on 2004-09-29
15:38:55
 Why are you guys better?

I'm an old plus 4 user and remember the old games fondly. Indeed, I've downloaded several for my YAPE emulator.

However, I've noticed the 'new' games etc. you guys have coded are massively improved in terms of music and gfx. The demos in particular far exceed anything I saw in the 80's on my 'real' plussy.

I'm a layman really but I'm interested to know why? Is it because programming techniques have evolved or do we know more about how the plussy works inside now?

Anyone generous enough to answer??

Posted By

TMR
on 2004-09-29
16:04:22
 Re: Why are you guys better?

It's an evolutionary thing, as the years have passed people have worked out new ways to hammer the hardware; it's the same with the C64, Spectrum and just about every 8bit still getting new software. =-)

Posted By

Ulysses777
on 2004-09-29
18:02:15

But the main reason (as far as the 264 series is concerned) is that most commercial games were designed to run on the C16, and the 'new' games take advantage of the 64K Plus4.

A bit of a shame really, as some of the few commercial Plus4-only games were real gems (like Mercenary, which runs noticeably faster than the C64 version) happy

Posted By

Csabo
on 2004-09-29
20:44:23

Well said T.M.R and Ulysses777, those are both very true. The 16K thing practially crippled our game market. The demos that were produced for the 16K demo compo would have probably shocked the heck out of the makers of the machine - had they seen them back in '84. There's no magic code, we just got better because we kept doing it, kept improving it.