Login
Back to forumReply to this topicGo to last reply

Posted By

candle
on 2019-04-04
18:07:57
 what are the odds of massive failure of plus 4

Hi All,
I've just had a chance to get "sold as is, not tested" unit off ebay for fairly good price, and i was happy even it can be it will not work, as i'm a hardware designer myself and wanted to have some fun with troubleshooting and possible repair
after a bit of a wait for shipment i found that unit is dead - charlie good i thought hoping for easy repair

well.. what was good in that plus 4 was TED - so this is a win, but what failed puzzels me

unit was in fair cosmetic shape, but obviously there was no internal shielding - even c16 has cardboard one or proper metal shield, and on the pictures i've seen around this site there was some evidence of some kind of shielding, at least to some extent, so my guess is that is was open in one point of time

after borrowing known good c16 i've checked what was simpliest to do
cpu - dead
pla - seems to be working
basic, kernal - good
ted - good

ok, this was promosing - cpu shouldn't be that hard to find, right?
after replacing cpu with the one from c16 still no go - but one of memory chips run hot
quick look on data line reviewed that it is actually damaged, so i've replaced it
still dead - quick look over ACIA crystal pins revealed distorted oscillations that should a sinusoid, but was not
i've figured it is not needed for basic operation so i've pulled it out
this time plus 4 come to life - screen was almost ok, but at least i had blinking cursor and a welcome message
keyboard was not responding and there were some random chars in few places over the screen
after what i've read, i've suspected MOS 6529 chip gone bad, as this was responsible for keyboard - unfortunatly it was not socketed, so after socketing it i found that it is not the case
then i've put my scope over PLA to see if that chip is even getting selected for reads - it was not...