Login
Back to forumReply to this topicGo to last reply

Posted By

Ozyma​ndias
on 2008-11-24
16:23:05
 FLI

Hello!

Unfortunately my holidays are over. So I don't have much time anymore. But today I read the new glossary entry on FLI and it is very interesting.

I am not a programmer so I probably don't understand everything but I hope you can help me a little bit.

Does FLI work in character mode and in bitmap mode? And what are the limits if FLI is used instead of DFLI? From my understanding then only color is fetched and not the new character. But does that matter in character mode? So I can change color in every line then? And in bitmap mode FLI does what? It fetches only colors and not luminance?

Sorry if my questions are confusing. But I would really like to understand this completely.

A listing of all the different modes and limitations would help me a lot. And if someone could add a demo that uses this particular mode it would be even better. I know this is asking for much but I think it is interesting to others, too!

Thank you!

Posted By

Csabo
on 2008-11-25
22:49:01
 Re: FLI

Let me see.

FLI works in both character mode and in bitmap mode. You are right about the difference between FLI and DFLI. For character mode, the thing is, even though you CAN switch to new colors in every character, you only get that ONE color per character, since the other color, the background color, is taken from $FF15. An example would be To Be Ashamed - which looks quite stunning really, I don't know why this effect was not used more often. Doing the same in bitmap mode causes that much discussed "FLI color bug". One of the earliest implementations is in Compy Xmas, the 6th part. That effect is also quite stunning, I remember my shock when I first saw it happy TLC explains it all really well in FLI Editor note, it's worth a read.