Login
Back to forumReply to this topicGo to last reply

Posted By

paranorm
on 2004-10-17
08:28:46
 Old Programming Books

Just looking over the site, and realised I have my copy of the 'C16 and Plus/4 Programmers Guide' published by CBM in 1985, and 'C16 Machine Language for the absolute beginner' from Melbourne House (I found this book really usful for figuring out things like high speed scrolling back in the late 80's - it includes a list of virtually all address space that does anything useful , and a complete detailed register description). I've also got 'C16 Games book' by Melbourne house (was ok when I was learning basic), 'Programming the 6502' by Sybex, and 'The Commodore Plus/4 Book' by Meyer (dont think I ever used it). Would be happy to get them into the modern day pdf world... although whats the copyright situation like on this stuff? The C16 and Plus/4 Programmers guide is a black and white photocopy I bought direct from CBM as it was out of print when I bought it.

Posted By

Csabo
on 2004-10-17
11:43:05
 Re: Old Programming Books

The legal situation is gray area. In reality, it seems that you can get away with publising old mags/books online, especially if the companies who owned the copyright have folded.

But why would you use PDF? It's a proprietary, dead-end, closed format. There are many systems that can't read it. Sure it's good for printing, but can't search or query it online. The information in the books is much more important than the presentation. Read some articles like this one. Anyways, I say good old HTML is good enough.

Posted By

Crown
on 2004-10-17
16:01:58

The 'C16 and Plus/4 Programmers Guide' by CBM would be actually great to have available.

As for format, I personally like PDF. It is actually easier to read than lots of HTML pages, and you can easily save it as well..

Posted By

Csabo
on 2004-10-17
17:21:50