Login
Back to forumReply to this topicGo to last reply

Posted By

Dan7
on 2021-12-20
06:07:43
 CPU replacement vs Bauknecht games

I'm facing an issue that might have been discussed here already, but I did not find a clear solution even after checking through some related threads: This year I purchased a refurbished C+4, with internal SD2IEC and replaced CPU already installed, ready for gaming. happy However, after re-discovering all the childhood classics and some more recent excellent releases, I ran into the following problem: most of the Bauknecht games (Alpharay, Slipsteram, Pets Rescue, MOS...) simply hang after starting. My first guess was the SD2IEC (old version), so I replaced it with a Pi1541, but the problem remained. My second guess now is the CPU replacement, and especially that the KERNAL version is colliding with Krills/Bitfire loaders, but being a newbie, I'm not sure how to proceed (also, I do not have an original CPU for testing). Should I just buy another CPU replacement kit (as I'm not sure of the origin and version of the current one in my machine) or is there a simpler potential solution? Any advise is welcome.

Posted By

Doug
on 2021-12-20
06:28:54
 Re: CPU replacement vs Bauknecht games

I'm sure you'll get a definitive answer from someone on here, but I'm pretty sure that SD2IEC is not compatible with fast loaders.

Posted By

MIK
on 2021-12-20
07:32:27

Yeah the original Pets Rescue was designed to make use of the 1551 floppy drive. Thankfully the guys later released a version for SD2IEC which can be found on the games page.

Posted By

MCes
on 2021-12-20
07:52:23

@Dan7
Could you post some pics of this CPU replacement?
Your issues can be compatible with a C-Mos 65C02 core that can't manage the illegal opcodes....

Posted By

siz
on 2021-12-20
09:09:47