Login
Back to forumReply to this topicGo to last reply

Posted By

Hendriks
on 2019-08-16
06:03:35
 Plus/4 black screen : TED, CPU, PLA, and ROMs are good

I have recently bought a plus/4 that outputs only a black screen. I have a working Plus/4 with a brand new modern power supply that works, so I know the power and monitor connection is fine.

The red power LED lights up. I swapped the TED, the CPU, the PLA, and the ROMs with my working plus/4, and they're all fine and working normally in my good machine.

I checked the board as best as I can, I'm no electronics expert, but I recently bought a multi-meter. There do not seem to be any resistors or capacitors broken or shorted.

I noticed the RAM chips getting too hot too touch very quickly. Does that mean that I have to buy a soldering iron and replace the RAM, or is there anything I can do before that?

Posted By

gerliczer
on 2019-08-16
07:56:18
 Re: Plus/4 black screen : TED, CPU, PLA, and ROMs are good

Recently, someone had a faulty ACIA (U3, 6551/8551) that brought the whole machine to its knees. It may worth a try pulling it out and do a test run.

Posted By

Hendriks
on 2019-08-16
08:23:38

Thanks for the suggestion. Is there any way to see if it's the problem without pulling it out? It's not socketed and I would need to get a soldering iron, and I have never done that before.

Is there a way to measure with a multi-meter and see if it's working normally?

Posted By

gerliczer
on 2019-08-16
11:38:42

See the opening post of the following topic: http://plus4world.powweb.com/forum/37911.
I think, its not possible to do anything more without oscilloscope and soldering iron.

Posted By

candle
on 2019-08-16
20:41:58

i strongly suggest not to
if you're "not an expert" and just recently "bought a multi-metter" just don't buy solder iron just to damage the board