Login
Back to forumReply to this topicGo to last reply

Posted By

carrion
on 2018-04-24
15:58:46
 Laura - proof of concept project

Do you know Laura?
IMO the best game released for Atari 8 bit computers in last years.

The original Atari game can be seen here: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=GDmEcb7qEmA

The video below is a test (a proof of concept if you will) I coded on last few days to see if it’s doable and how difficult it could be to do this kind of game on C264 family of computers.
I’m not saying I start porting Laura to Commodore, but who knows…
Here's quick video of my code running on emulator

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=UmdunGBm7c0

Posted By

theruler
on 2018-04-25
04:48:30
 Re: Laura - proof of concept project

I've never seen that game before, I am actually a noob about Atari 8-bit machines. The game looks quite good and seems to be pretty funny.
Keep up the good work, the proof is very interesting!

Posted By

Luca
on 2018-04-25
05:24:20

Good first approach, Carrion, hope this will take you to an advanced beta soon! Oh btw...VICE? Really? My suggestion is to never never never use the unfaithful VICE xplus4 emulator.

Posted By

RKSoft
on 2018-04-25
07:10:15

I do not know about this game, so i saw the youtube video you posted. Nice game. After that, i took a look into the video of your alpha(?) port and it looks amazing. Please report more about your port. I hope you finalize it happy

Posted By

Majikeyric
on 2018-04-25
07:31:37

I agree with RKSoft ! Great start ! happy

Posted By

Csabo
on 2018-04-25
12:09:05

As everyone else above me said, I haven't heard of this game either. From the short clip of the original, it doesn't look like there would be any hurdles to write a game like this (or port it directly) to the Plus/4. Pretty standard stuff. One thing I wanted to note is that the way the scroll lags seems very annoying.

Nevertheless, I'm happy to see your proof of concept happy Hope you don't give up and turn it into a full release.