Login
Back to forumReply to this topicGo to last reply

Posted By

MIK
on 2012-05-20
13:49:16
 Joysticks & Joypads questions.

Is it safe to use an Atari 2600 joystick and other make sticks & pad for Atari computers on C16 & Plus/4.

My biggest nightmare is TED, it's that easy to kill TED via the joyports. However I believe the power on Atari machines is wired differently to the joyports and it may not be safe to use these in case something is being sent down the wrong wire...?
I know they work on Amiga, but the Amiga is more geared up an can't really be damaged in the same way as TED.

I guess yes is not good enough, just wondering if anyone knows of how the wiring works and/or any long term damage it may or may not do.

Or is it just a case if TED is going to mess up, it's going to happen regardless?

Cheers,

Posted By

retroscener
on 2012-05-20
15:34:04
 Re: Joysticks & Joypads questions.

I'm no expert on the techy side, so I never considered if standard joysticks could damage the TED. I'd like to know this too as I use a standard Competion Pro and some weird stick from a company called Suncom.

If we use a joystick which uses the standard Atari connecter ports (with obviously an adaptor), does it risk the TED chip?

Posted By

MIK
on 2012-05-20
16:32:53

Sorry for the long message!

A friend of friend asked me to have a look at his Plus/4 about 12 years ago, maybe just before this. His joyports did not work at all and was forced to use the keyboard.

Turned out he had been using some fancy joystick which had a number of different types of Auto- Fire. I think it was made more for the Amiga era, but obviously this thing was pining the life out of the port and messed the TED up. All I did was take the TED out of a spare plus/4 that was given to me as a dead machine and he was rolling again. I told him NOT to use it on the Plus/4 ever again!