Login
Back to forumReply to this topicGo to last reply

Posted By

mr zetec
on 2009-08-31
18:41:08
 Converting .tap to cassette.

Hello everyone.

I am at the end of my tether trying to restore some of my old plus/4 games. I have found the .tap files to convert to .wav and the very minimal software to do it. I have managed to get the audio to a cassette via my pc sound card and a cassette recorder but my plus/4 just won't read the tapes. I have tried all kinds of variations of volume and I just can't achieve a load, I can't even get a "found" message. The tapes I made sound good; they sound the same as an original tape, so please where am I going wrong????

Posted By

Csabo
on 2009-08-31
22:04:55
 Re: Converting .tap to cassette.

Hey there and welcome to our forum!

I wish I could say that I know the answer, but sadly I've never done this before. I do know that this came up before, and there are a few regular forum members who messed around with this kind of stuff, so an answer is sure to turn up. (And once it does, I promise to make a new FAQ out of it happy)

Posted By

Jakec
on 2009-09-01
03:14:02

You get better results if you try cable X1531.

http://plus4world.powweb.com/hardware/390063

and many infos:

http://markus.brenner.de/x1531/index.html
http://sta.c64.org/
http://commodore-gg.hobby.nl/CIP/Pagina/INFO-TapeTransfer-GB.htm
http://www.richardlagendijk.nl/cip/article/index/tape_transfer

I have not yet been done. But,The Truth Is Out There happy

Posted By

Chicken
on 2009-09-01
12:38:56

Hello and welcome happy

Do you have some other (old) tapes that load fine with the very same datasette? Misalignment is a very common problem.

If other tapes load perfectly...

Then, what kind of cassette recorder have you used? Some ppl reported that it was easier to produce working tapes with MONO cassette recorders.