Login
Back to forumReply to this topicGo to last reply

Posted By

seff
on 2024-03-04
02:29:51
 Cartridge Challenge :: New 3+1 ROM

I want to do a proof a concept and call Kernal and Basic routines from within a 32k cartridge.
This will be the first step to create a new 3+1 ROM based on SpeedScript and SpeedCalc that will run from ROM and utilize all available RAM.
For example, the built-in 3+1 cartridge copies ROM to $1000 to $7000. It is no surprise that you have only 99 lines left available in the word processor.
I studied all possible cartridges available and wrote a new 3+1/3+1 Cartridge Challenge GitHub as follows:

;--------------------------------------------------
; cold_start
cold_start:

lda CURBNK ; Get current ROM bank (to provide runnability in any slots)
and #$03 ; Use our ROM in low bank only and KERNAL in high
tax
stx CURBNK
sta $fdd0,x
ldx #< cart_message ; Print message below Basic header
ldy #> cart_message
jsr print_text ; print message
jsr def_key ; register F1 key
jsr def_sys ; register sys routine
; ROM charset in hi memory
rts

; warm_start
warm_start:
jsr print_intro
;jsr read_textl
jmp *

I enclose the CHROUT call in the LONG call:

; print_textl, xy=pointer, 0
print_textl:
stx IMPARM ; set pointer
sty IMPARM+1
ldy #0 ; we're pointing to 1st byte of string
-
lda (IMPARM),y ; loop to output string
beq +

;jsr CHROUT ; do a long call later
sta FETARG ; store acc
lda #$00 ; status register=0
sta FETSRG
lda #< CHROUT
sta LNGJMP
lda #> CHROUT
sta LNGJMP+1
lda CURBNK
ldx #$00 ; bank in Basic/Kernal
jsr LONG ; jsr CHROUT via long

iny
bne -
inc IMPARM+1
bne - ; this will never be 0
+ rts

But it works only partially. I get a few lines of text printed now and then:

So I failed. I did not achieve my objective to run code in a 32k ROM and be able to call both Kernal and Basic routines.
It is not simple and that's why so many developers resorted to copying ROM to RAM unfortunately.