Login
Back to forumReply to this topicGo to last reply

Posted By

Retroshire
on 2020-06-08
04:29:40
 Information about PCB difference, revisions of IC, historics

I am looking for information about the different PCB's and revisions of the Commodore 16. Are there any differences, quality's etc. What is the difference between the PCB with white printing and yellow printing? Also production information from CPU 7/8501 and TED 7/8360. Are the later productions better or worse? Are there any differences in country of production?

Posted By

MMS
on 2020-06-08
12:30:01
 Re: Information about PCB difference, revisions of IC, historics

I am not a HW expert, but in some previous post it was mentiuoned that the 8501 R3 (sometimes pop up on different sites) are the latest, improved version of the MOS production process, and expected to be the most reliable one. (but we do not have any statstics of the failed CPUs datecode, etc)

Posted By

unclouded
on 2020-06-09
18:59:35

I am very interested in this. If you find things, where will you keep them? here? I just had a PLA fail. 251641-02 with week code 3884. Powered up after years in storage, video for one second then no video.

My C16 boards are "PCB NO 251789-01 REV A" or "..REV B". Here is one:

It's clipped on the left sorry. Didn't all fit in my scanner.

I read here that Commodore recommended adding clamping diodes to some external lines to prevent voltages much below 0V or above 5V from being applied to the chips:

I would love to know if any boards were ever made with such improvements or if they were just patched instead.

IIRC, 7XXX is HMOS and 8XXX is HMOS-II process. From https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Depletion-load_NMOS_logic#The_HMOS_processes "According to Intel, HMOS-II (1979) provided twice the density and four times the speed/power", so maybe the 8XXX just produced less heat?

Posted By

MMS
on 2020-06-10
17:52:16

It is rather interesting topic.