Login
Back to forumReply to this topicGo to last reply

Posted By

Uto
on 2019-12-22
19:08:28
 Read from RAM and colour area

Hi All,

I'm quite new to Plus/4, but I'm trying to finish porting an modern addon for an ancient text adventure engine to Plus/4 from C64.

Please notice the ancient engine had a feature wich allows adding your own machine code, but I don't have the sources for the engine interpreter, I just can make the engine load my code, and do my stuff there. That means that, for instance, I cannot change the addresses where there the bitmap, luminance and colour areas are. I have bitmap area at $E000 and colour at DC00, and the engine runs in HiResolution mode.

Someone else helped with port before myself, and I got a function to load raster graphics from disk I had created for C64, ported to Plus/4. But now I want to port myself another function able to load text from disk, so the text adventure is not limited to 64K.

I copied the code from the picture loading and it worked, just the picture loading code blanks the screen while loading, by storing $0B at $FF06. That may be OK for loading a picture, cause when you loada picture you are in general changing to a new location in the game, so blanking the screen doesn't look bad.

On the other hand, when loading a text you want to display, blanking the screen looks weird, so I made something so the screen is not blanked, but then when I was about to load the file, something that to be done needs that I page ROM first (Storing at $FF3E), all the screen attributes get messed up, and then once I page RAM back they are Ok again. Please notice it's only color attributes, the pixels in the bitmap remain the same.

I have checked bit 2 at $FF12 and it's 0 all the time, so it's reading from RAM, but apparently that works only for bitmap data, not color data.

I've tried both with VICE/Plus4 and with YAPE, but both of them show the same.