Login
Back to forumReply to this topicGo to last reply

Posted By

Thomas
on 2003-02-02
 Minus4w and TAP files

Hi,

this might be a stupid question, so please forgive me if it is wink, but I'm an absolute newbie to TAP files and I haven't found anything on this topic.
At the moment I'm copying my original tapes to the PC, using a X1531 cable, the original datasette and mtap36. The first TAP file I created runs fine with Yape, but Minus4w does not load it. In the "history" of Minus4w Mike writes in the section "Known Bugs": "TAPE's don't work yet..." Since this is written below "Version 2.0": does it still apply to the newest version (2.5)?

And I have some additional questions regarding mtap36:

- What are "halfwaves"?
- Should I just execute "mtap36 xxxxxxxx.tap" or should I use additional parameters for C16/Plus4-tapes?

Many thanks in advance! happy
Greetz,
Lord Voldemort

Posted By

Thomas
on 2003-02-02
 Oops...

I guess it should be "mtap -c16pal xxxxxxxx.tap"?

Posted By

MIK
on 2003-02-02
 Hi Lord Voldemort.

The TAP format that is created by mtap was not added to any of the Minus4 releases, at this time there are only 2 emulators available that support this format which are YAPE and Artifex, athought the beta of Vice Plus4 does too but as of yet has'nt been released to the public.

Minus4 DOS does support .wav samples. At the time when Mike added tape image support no one had used tape images before on a Plus4 emu so he used the .tap file type. These tape images which you may of seen can be found here: tapeimages.htm.

Halfwaves are a pain. Some games used a different way of recording data to tape which was unique the the C16/Plus4. I would say 10% of the TAP's we have here are halfwave and the question is how do you tell... 10% sounds high, but in the real world that percent would be more close to 3% of all commercial released software on tape.