Login
Back to forumSee the full topicGo to last reply

Posted By

TLC
on 2012-01-08
13:03:43
 Re: TED Music Collection?

I'm still studying what PSID v1.0/2.0/2.0ng/RSID options imply and what should be kept and what part modified.

Though, after some time, I'm inclined to think that the first real question is, if the current psid/rsid format should be modified at all (apart from cosmetic changes ie. the magic in the file header and the filename extension).

Changing the format here and there might help getting rid of some of psid's historical details and options that still need to be dealt with today in a player for the fileformat. (As for the ability, I'm absolutely positive that the current psid/rsid fileformat is sufficient for our purposes; ...I could hardly invent a case (some special case of a ted tune) which would be impossible to describe, logically, using p/rsid).

Not changing the format's structure (apart from the mentioned cosmetic changes and logical "re-definitions", ie. there's no CIA timing in the Plus/4, but there's TED etc.), from the other hand, seems to promise very small "initial cost" of the project's startup, ie. no need to write file manipulating tools from scratch (the currently available sid file manipulating tools could be used with less to no modifications, which is IMHO a great advantage).